UMC - Grandes Marques et Maisons de Champagne

Home > Appellation > Geographical area

Geographical area

By a law passed in 1927, the Champagne production zone (AOC vineyard area) is a defined area of 34,000 hectares. It is located in France some 150 kilometres to the east of Paris and spreads across 319 crus (villages or communes) in four main growing areas: the Montagne de Reims, the Vallée de la Marne, the Côte des Blancs and the Côte des Bar.
Together these comprise 281,000 plots of vines, each measuring roughly 12 ares (100 square metres). Seventeen villages rank as Grand Cru and 42 as Premier Cru. The vineyards are planted at altitudes of 90-300 metres, on predominantly south-, southeast- and east-facing slopes (coteaux) with an average gradient of 12% (up to 60% in some places). This undulating to moderately steep terrain creates ideal vineyard sites, combing optimum exposure to the sun with good natural drainage that prevents soil saturation.

Côte des Bars Côte des Blancs Montagne de Reims Vallée de la Marne cotedesbars cotedesblancs montagnedereims valleedelamarne
16 086
Montagne de Reims 94 3 908
Vallée de la Marne 103 5 504
Côte des Blancs 58 4 139
Côte des Bar 64 2 535