The Hôtel de Venoge was built in 1899, originally as the family home of Louis-Henri-Marcel Gallice (1854-1930), then president of premier Champagne House Perrier-Jouët. Since 2014 the house has been the Head Office of Champagne House de Venoge.
The Hôtel de Venoge now forms part of the Champagne Hillsides, Houses and Cellars included on the UNESCO World Heritage List.
Designed by architect Charles Blondel, the house is a fine example of fin de siècle style, built in the"noble" building materials of the period (dressed stone and slate) and featuring eyebrow dormer windows.
The house itself faces onto an inner, gated courtyard, with outbuildings, dependencies and grounds extending behind the house. The main entrance overlooks Champagne avenue in Epernay. An elegant, wrought-iron canopy sets off the ornamental gate, also made of wrought iron and featuring Marcel Gallice’s initials. This signature is likewise displayed on the wrought-iron balcony on the front elevation, framed by two griffin-shaped supports.
Inside the house, the main reception rooms look northwards over the grounds. Decorative plasterwork and panelling dominate the interior but one feature that really stands out is a stained glass window dating from 1921, depicting the angel of freedom. The image is a tribute to the "martyrs of Epernay" in the First World War, highlighted by an olive branch decoration and flanked by garlands of grapes and vine leaves symbolizing Marcel Gallice’s ties to Perrier-Jouët Champagne.
The Maison Gallice was owned by Perrier-Jouet until 2014 when it was acquired by Champagne de Venoge (like so many of the properties formerly owned by Champagne Houses in Epernay and Rheims).
Description of the interior
The Hôtel Particulier de Venoge is testament to the economic dynamism of Epernay in the late 19th century and stands today as a tribute to the elegance and good taste of Champagne de Venoge.
The entrance features a magnificent bust of Gaëtan de Venoge, grandson of Henri-Marc de Venoge who founded the House in 1837.
The handsome study boasts a fine collection of archival records, account books, labels dating from the House’s foundation, seals and foil bottle capsules..,
The smoking room is arranged around a French billiard table and features a painting representing the beginnings of Champagne.
The dining room looks out onto a splendid garden, with sliding doors of the period opening onto a Louis XV reception room showcasing a sculpture of the King. A Pleyel piano adds to the decor, one of only three surviving examples worldwide.
The basement cellar houses a priceless collection of 30,000 vintage Champagne wines.